How To Watch Naruto In Order: Complete Watching Guide

How to watch? Naruto alright is a question that may arise in the minds of both newcomers and those who have already seen bits, if not the entire series.

It is a long-running franchise with numerous movies and OVAs. It is one of the most popular and highly rated Shonen series along with: A piece and Bleach.

The Naruto series follows Naruto Uzumaki, a new ninja from Hidden Leaf Village who aspires to be a Hokage.

This list serves as a guide to watching movies based on the main plot. Movies and OVAs are also included, although they should not always be viewed. They can be viewed at any time during the respective arcs as they are non-canonical.

How to watch? Naruto okay with filler episodes?

Naruto Uzumaki as seen in the anime Naruto (Image via Studio Pierrot)“/>
Naruto Uzumaki as seen in the anime Naruto (Image via Studio Pierrot)

1) Naruto (2002-2007)

Following the success of the manga, which debuted in 1999, the first entry in the Naruto franchise was released in 2002. The first Naruto anime aired from October 3, 2002 to February 8, 2007 and had a total of 220 episodes.

With three movies and over 200 episodes, it’s easy to get lost. You may find yourself switching between episodes and movies, but here’s how to watch the first series.

Episodes 1-5

Find the red four leaf clover!

Episodes 6-80

  • Mission: Protect the Waterfall Village!
  • Naruto: The Crossroads

Episodes 81-101

  • Hidden Leaf Village Grand Sports Festival!
  • Finally a collision! Junin vs. Genin!! Random Grand Melee Tournament Meeting!!
  • Naruto, the ghost and the three wishes, believe it!
  • Naruto the Movie: Ninja Clash in the Land of Snow

Episodes 102-160

Naruto the Movie: Legend of the Stone of Gelel

Episodes 161-196

Naruto the Movie: Guardians of the Crescent Moon Kingdom

Episodes 197-220

2) Naruto Shippuden (2007-2017)

Naruto Shippuden is the sequel to the Naruto series and is primarily based on Part II of Masashi Kishimoto’s original manga series.

It takes place two and a half years after Naruto left Konohagakure to train with Jiraiya. Right now, Akatsuki, a mysterious group, is carrying out some plans that could doom everyone.

Naruto Shippuden has a total of 500 episodes, as well as many movies. The show lasted almost ten years. Watching as a result Naruto Shippuden is much more difficult. However, you can follow this list to watch the movies and the episodes.

Episodes 1-32

  • Hurricane! “Hidden Leaf High School” Chronicles!
  • Movie 1: Naruto Shippuden The Movie

Episodes 33-71

Naruto Shippuden the Movie: Bonds

Episodes 72-120

Naruto Shippuden the Movie: Inheritors of Will of Fire

Episodes 121-154

Naruto Shippuden the Movie: The Lost Tower

Episodes 155-196

Naruto Shippuden the Movie: Blood Prison

Episodes 197-220

Chunin Exam on Fire: Naruto vs. Konuhamaru

Episodes 221-151

Naruto Shippuden the Movie: Road to Ninja

Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations Hashirama Senju vs. Madara Uchiha

Episodes 252-311

  • Naruto x UT
  • Naruto Shippuden: Sunny Side Battle!!!
  • Ninja escapades

Episodes 312-493

The Last: Naruto the Movie

Episodes 494-500

The Day Naruto Became Hokage

3) Boruto: Naruto Next Generation (2017–present)

Boruto: Naruto Next Generationwhich aired in 2017 and is still going on is the sequel to Naruto Shippuden. It follows the story of the now Naruto’s son, Boruto. Naruto has now become a Hokage, and after the successful end of the fourth Shinobi World War, Konohagakure has known peace.

The story is about Boruto’s journey to become a great shinobi himself, and beyond his father’s legacy.

Despite being based on the manga, the anime explores original storylines and adaptations of the spin-off manga. If you’re wondering how to watch this latest episode, it’s pretty easy, as we’ve shown.

Boruto: The Naruto Movie

Episode 1 underway

Boruto OVA 1

How to watch? Naruto in sequence without filler episodes?

Naruto and Sasuke as seen in the anime Naruto:Shippuden (Image via Studio Pierrot)“/>
Naruto and Sasuke as seen in the anime Naruto: Shippuden (Image via Studio Pierrot)

Naruto contains a staggering number of filler episodes, which some viewers may find uninteresting. If you want to watch Naruto in order, but without all the fillers, here’s a list of episodes to avoid.

It’s worth noting that, despite not having any impact on the plot, some of the fill-in episodes are fun to watch.

The movies are also mostly filler stories, with the exception of The Last: Naruto the Movie.

1) Naruto

  • Episode 26
  • Episode 97
  • Episodes 102-106
  • Episodes 136-219

2) Naruto Shippuden

  • Episodes 57-71
  • Episodes 89-112
  • Episodes 119-120
  • Episodes 144-151
  • Episodes 170-171
  • Episodes 176-196
  • Episodes 223-242
  • Episodes 257-260
  • Episode 272
  • Episodes 280-281
  • Episodes 284-289
  • Episodes 300-317
  • Episodes 319-320
  • Episodes 347-361
  • Episodes 376-377
  • Episodes 388-390
  • Episodes 394-413
  • Episode 416
  • Episodes 422-423
  • Episodes 427-457
  • Episode 469
  • Episodes 480-500

3) Boruto: Naruto Next Generation

  • Episodes 16-17
  • Episode 33
  • Episodes 42-50
  • Episodes 67-70
  • Episodes 96-97
  • Episode 104
  • Episodes 113-119
  • Episodes 138-140
  • Episodes 152-156
  • Episodes 256-258
  • Episode 260

This guide should be helpful to anyone just starting out with Naruto. The series can be viewed on Netflix, Hulu and Amazon Prime Video.

Quick Links

More from Sportskeeda


Leave a Comment