CTI host Bree Tomasel is our most popular TV personality, Stuff Circuit wins best doco and other big TV Awards winners

Fresh off winning an international media award in September, Stuff Circuit has won NZ On Air’s Best Documentary at the 2022 New Zealand Television Awards.

The winning documentary, Disordered, is a video-driven, multimedia investigation into how New Zealand treats people with fetal alcohol spectrum disorder.

The annual awards, which celebrate the best in Aotearoa television, were presented to a sold-out crowd of industry members at Auckland’s Shed 10 on Thursday evening.

The event’s first in-person ceremony since 2020 was hosted by actor and comedian Kura Forrester.

* New Zealand Television Awards: Tova O’Brien, Nix Adams, Hayley Sproull and Stuff Circuit among 2021 winners
* NZ TV Awards: The Luminaries lead the pack with 14 nominations, Stuff Circuit nominated
* 2019 AACTA Awards Winners: The Full List

Celebrity Treasure Island host Bree Tomasel won the popular publicly voted TV Personality of the Year award, joining previous Personality of the Year alumni such as Hilary Barry and Matty McLean.

With a whopping eight wins, The Panthers, produced for TVNZ and TVNZ+ by Tavake Limited, cleared the scripted categories.

The six-part drama series, which retells the rise of the Polynesian Panthers in the 1970s, won NZ On Air for Best Drama, Best Post-Production Design, Best Costume Design, Best Contribution to a Soundtrack, Best Editing: Drama or Comedy Drama and Best Sound and Vision Cinematography for a comedy or comedy drama.

Bree Tomasel is the New Zealand TV Personality of the Year as voted by the public.


Bree Tomasel is the New Zealand TV Personality of the Year as voted by the public.

Screen Auckland’s Best Director Award for a Drama or Comedy Drama also went to The Panthers, with the win going to director Miki Magasiva.

The Pact also won multiple awards – a six-part TVNZ+ miniseries designed to “open conversations” around euthanasia. Writers Harry McNaughton and Natalie Medlock won Best Script: Drama and the series took three of the four performance awards.

Timmie Cameron won Best Supporting Actress, Irene Wood won Best Actress and Kiwi legend Ian Mune won Best Actor.

Best Supporting Actor went to Scotty Cotter for his work on the TVNZ+ comedy series Kura.

Children’s television producer Janine Morrell-Gunn was also celebrated as a TV legend at the evening’s celebration, which was hosted by broadcaster Stacey Morrison.

Wellington Paranormal won Best Script: Comedy for the third consecutive time, with comedian Tom Sainsbury taking the win this year. The award for best comedy went to Pax Assadi’s Raised by Refugees, streamed on Prime and Neon.

Karen O'Leary at the NZ TV Awards.  Wellington Paranormal took home Best Script: Comedy at the Awards.


Karen O’Leary at the NZ TV Awards. Wellington Paranormal took home best script: comedy at the awards.

Down for Love, the TVNZ2 series that follows six people with Down syndrome and their pursuit of love, won Best Original Reality Series while the second season of Three’s Match Fit – where Graham Henry and Buck Shelford brought together a team of rugby legends to game ready – won the reality series for best format.

The popular reality show The Casketeers won best Māori program for the second time at māngai pāho, having won the award earlier in 2019.

Three’s Newshub cemented itself at the top of the television news game, winning top coverage for the fourth year in a row. The prize was awarded for reporting on the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Samantha Hayes at the NZ TV Awards.


Samantha Hayes at the NZ TV Awards.

Barbara Dreaver, 1 News’ Pacific correspondent was celebrated as Reporter of the Year and TVNZ’s Q&A’s Jack Tame accepted the award for Best Presenter: News and Current Affairs.

Newsroom won best current affairs program for Newsroom Investigates: Breaking Bad Practice, Sky Sport won best sports program for 1-39: The Highlanders Story and TVNZ’s Te Karere won best reo Māori program from Te Māngai Pāho.

NZ Opera and Greenstone TV’s Feature Production of Handel’s Semele was named Best Entertainment Program and Tāmati Rimene-Sproat was named Best Presenter: Entertainment for Great Southern TV’s Hongi to Hāngi: And Everything In Between.

Nadia Lim at the NZ TV Awards.


Nadia Lim at the NZ TV Awards.

In the Facts and Documentaries categories, Black Iris Limited’s Whakaata Māori series Chatham Islanders won Best Factual Series, Bevan Crothers won Best Cinematography: Documentary or Factuality for his work on Whakaata Māori’s Moko, Chris Graham won the award for Best Director: Documentary/Factual for TVNZ+’s Scribe: Return of the Crusader and Prisca Bouchet, Julie Alp and Annie Goldson won Best Editing: Documentary or Factual for the Prime TV documentary A Mild Touch of Cancer.

Other winners included NZ On Air’s Best Kids Program which went to Bird’s Eye, Gary Mackay, Alistair Kay and Anneke Botha who were awarded Best Production Design for Netflix’s Cowboy Bebop, Amanda Ashton won Best Makeup Design for her work on Kura Productions and local drama series Ahikāroa.

David Long and Stephen Gallagher won Best Original Score for Sound and Vision for Mystic, Mitchell Hawkes won Best Director: Multi-Cam for the TVNZ 2 special Stan Walker: Impossible Live and Celebrate Matariki from Kahawai Productions won Best Live Coverage .

Leave a Comment